Posted on Tuesday 4 June 2013 by Ulster Business

CIPR MAC Launch 07

Gillian Shields from Coca-Cola and the CIPR's Gary McKeown launch the 2013 awards.

The Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) in Northern Ireland is hosting its 2013 Media Awards, with Coca-Cola HBC Northern Ireland as the headline sponsor of the event.

The Coca-Cola CIPR Media Awards 2013 will see a new venue, format, and awards categories introduced to celebrate the 20th year of the prestigious event.

Providing the opportunity for the media here to demonstrate excellence across a range of categories, the awards will take place on Friday 7 June 2013 in an exciting new venue, The MAC Belfast hosted by NI's own Eamonn Holmes.

The event will bring together Northern Ireland's elite journalists, editors and executives to compete in categories including Newspaper of the Year, Journalist of the Year and, new for 2013, Radio Show of the Year and Presenter of the Year.

Gary McKeown, chair of the CIPR Northern Ireland, said: "These awards are the highlight of the media calendar, and to mark the 20th time that they've been held by the CIPR, we're introducing an exciting new format and venue which reflect the energy and vibrancy of the media here. The public relations profession has always worked closely with the media in Northern Ireland, and the CIPR is proud to hold this event, which celebrates excellence within journalism."

He added: "The media here have reported on some sensational news stories throughout the last 12 months, and this is the opportunity to draw attention to this excellent work. We expect this year's awards to showcase some fantastic entries and are counting down to the event. Thanks to our title sponsor Coca-Cola, associate sponsor Kantar Media, and awards sponsors Harrison Photography, Phoenix Natural Gas, Massive PR, JPR and Design Ethos, these awards are set to be a real celebration of local talent."

Gillian Shields from Coca-Cola HBC Northern Ireland added: "We are delighted to sponsor the Northern Ireland Media Awards once again this year, especially as the CIPR celebrates its 20th year hosting the event. We're looking forward to the new 'Oscar style' format of the event, and seeing the real shining stars of our media recognised."

The competition is open to all journalists and media organisations which are based in Northern Ireland, and is judged by a panel of respected media experts. Entries can be submitted through the awards website at with a deadline of 12 noon on Friday 3rd May 2013.


Follow us

Subscribe to Ulster Business Magazine

View Our Digital Library

A L Top 100 2019 button